Could extra calories help to lower body fat?

Well, yesterday’s gig went well – my voice seemed to be up to the job and everything went smoothly. Whilst in town I stopped off at the health shop (Leslie’s in Woodmill Lane, Knysna – full of great buys at reasonable prices) and stocked up on a few items. I bought:

  • Stevia powder (never bought it before, but keep hearing so much about it that I thought it was worth a try)
  • Gluten flour (super low in carbs and very high in protein – pretty much pure gluten)
  • “Just Protein” soya protein powder(unflavoured, for boosting the protein content of baked goods etc)
  • Soya flour (more protein than carbs, making it a great addition to or substitute for wheat flour)
  • Natural “Just Nuts” peanut butter
  • Oat Bran (way cheaper at Leslie’s than at Pick’n’Pay

Today I started my day with a serving of April’s “Dieter’s Dream Pancakes” (visit http://foodsofapril.com/ for lots of great recipes), with the alteration of adding ¼ tsp of Xantham Gum. They tasted a bit like marshmallows rather than pancakes, so I think next time I will leave out the gum and just stick to the original recipe! I topped the pancakes with 1 tbsp peanut butter, 1 apple (cooked in the microwave and topped with cinnamon), 100g fat-free yogurt (Darling’s honey flavour “Lite Feast”, which I buy from Checkers) and a bit of homemade sugar-free syrup. To finish it off I had a Calorie Free Coffee Shake, a recipe I found at http://fitnesscook.wordpress.com/ and am in complete awe of:

  • 1 tsp instant coffee granules (ricoffy for a pauper like me)
  • 1 cup water
  • Dash xantham gum (I used about ¼ tsp)
  • Stevia, to taste (or sweetener of your choice)
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract (I used 1 tsp caramel essence)

Stick the lot in a blender and then gradually add ice until you have the desired consistency. It tastes like a frappuccino, but with the calorie count of black coffee! I suppose you could even use 1 cup of fresh filter coffee in place of the water and instant coffee (hmmm, think I’ll try that next…). I didn’t believe it when I saw the photo, but I can vouch for the fact that it really is as good as it looks!

So breakfast weighed in at 400 calories and a whole lot of protein! Yesterday I made the decision to up my calories to around 2000 per day, as the 1600(ish) that I have been eating appears to not be enough to build the muscle I want. There is a chance that I will pick up some body fat in the process, but if it means building more muscle and getting strong then I will take that chance! Muscle is the best fat-burner around, so once I’ve got lots of it any extra fat should (in theory) disappear over time. I will continue to do heavy weight training three times a week, and light cardio on the other three days (Sunday will be a total rest day!).

My daily calorie intake will be made up of healthy, muscle building foods. For a list, see the “Food for Fitness” page.

I will of course allow myself the occasional treat or free meal – usually on a Sunday when there’s no training going on.

Anyway, this has been something of an epic blog, and if you’ve managed to read to this point then I commend you for your staying power! But now I have a flat to clean, an upper body workout to complete and a whole lot of food to prepare (and eat)!

Have a kiff* day! Will reconnect soon.

Love,

Mali.xxx

*South African slang, meaning “fantastic”, “awesome”, etc.

4 responses to “Could extra calories help to lower body fat?

  • april

    Man, I am impressed!! Most women say they want to build muscle and eat more, but never do in fear of gaining fat. But everything you said is SO true. Even if you gain a tiny bit of fat, it’ll disappear right away because of how metabolic muscle is! You got it all right.. looking forward to more of your blog!

  • Linda

    Hey Mali, nice blog! I will pop in every now and again to read up on stuff! I tried doing the whole eat-the-correct-amount of calories, but my days are so varied and eating can be so erratic that I found it doesnt work for me, as I am constantly worrying about my intake. If I have one biscuit extra, there goes the calorie count, or if I have to climb the stairs at work more than usual, it also does help. I have taken to eating the long sustaining foods, and exercising as much as I can when I can… which is also not easy 😉
    Keep up the good work!

    • themalikwhey

      Thanks Linda!

      Eating healthy, energy-sustaining food is more important than counting calories. Eating 2000 calories worth of sugary foods will have a very different effect on your body than eating 2000 calories worth of wholesome, nutritous food. Counting calories can be highly impractical, and the only reason I am doing it is to make sure I am getting enough fuel to support my weight training. The kind of food that makes up the majority of my diet can be very low-calorie, making it easy to undereat. But it sounds to me like you have a healthy lifestyle, so stick with what you’re doing! Everyone is different and you know what works best for you.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment – hope you’re well and hope to hear from you soon!

Leave a Reply

