Fat and Frappuccinos

My first day of eating extra calories went surprisingly well. I had more energy, didn’t crave unhealthy food, performed better during my weight training and slept amazingly well. This made a great change from the tired, cake-lusting girl who wants to pass out during workouts and lies awake at night due to hunger pangs. Admittedly, I had trouble making my last 200 cals since I was not AT ALL hungry after dinner, so I got a spoon and downed 2 tbsp natural peanut butter. Solved! The most surprising part was that I didn’t feel overfull at any point during the day. I attribute this to the fact that my carb intake was still moderate, and the majority of my calorie increase came from protein and fat. I am a big advocate for healthy fats such as olive oil, nuts and seeds. They’re great for so many things – fat-loss, muscle gain, skin health, memory and concentration, energy levels and cravings, to name just a few. Plus they taste great and make less exciting food more palatable.

This morning I whipped up a nutritious breakfast of:

  • ½ cup smooth fat-free cottage cheese
  • ¼ cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup cooked brown rice (leftover from last night’s dinner)
  • 1 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • ½ scoop whey powder
  • 1/3 cup fresh diced pineapple

Deelicious!

For my mid-morning snack I enjoyed 2 of April’s pumpkin cocoa bars (I made a few tweaks as I had lots of different flours that needed using) with a protein frappuccino:

  • 1 scoop whey powder (I used USN 100% whey in chocolate cream flavour)
  • 1 tsp instant coffee granules
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • Stevia or other sweetener to taste
  • ¼ tsp xantham gum

Whizz together in a blender and then gradually add ice until you have desire temperature and consistency. It tasted as delicious and felt as indulgent as a Mugg & Bean iced coffee. Hard to believe that nutritionally it was just another protein shake. Coupled with the Pumpkin Bars it was a snack worthy of a coffee shop!

Today I am presented with the task of notating the chords of all my songs for the people who have pre-ordered the album with the added extras. Not an easy task seeing as I use a capo on almost every song! But the least I can do for those who are supporting me in my career.

As for exercise, it’s a light-cardio day. Most likely 30 minutes at a medium pace on the ol’ elliptical machine.

Catch up soon!

Mali.xxx

2 responses to “Fat and Frappuccinos

  • april

    Your breakfast sounds delicious! Never thought to add rice for the carbs- great idea! Did you just mix it all up?

    • themalikwhey

      Hey there 🙂
      I mixed the cottage cheese, pumpkin, whey powder and peanut butter together, and then put the brown rice and pineapple on top. But in the end it all got mixed together in the bowl! It was almost like rice pudding!

Leave a Reply

