Creative Health

So often I hear people say they find healthy eating and exercising “boring”. This saddens me, as I personally find it exciting to know I am taking care of my body to the best of my ability. Do I enjoy lifting weights? Not really. In fact, at the end of nearly every session I finish by saying something along the lines of “Thank goodness that’s over”! But the feeling of being fit and strong is the very opposite of boring to me.

When it comes to healthy eating, I am fortunate in that I actually enjoy nutritious food. Don’t get me wrong, I love a slab of chocolate as much as the next person, but an avocado or protein shake feels just as indulgent to me. I love getting creative when it comes to food. I am always looking for new healthy recipes and figuring out ways to make my favourite foods fitness-friendly. Often, a few simple substitutions can transform a meal from unhealthy to wholesome.

A few ways of making healthy eating fun:

  • Have your cake AND eat it! Eating “clean” doesn’t have to mean missing out on your favourite baked goodies. Use whole grain flours and protein powders in the place of white flour, homemade applesauce or pureed pumpkin instead of oil or butter, stevia or xylitol instead of sugar, and 2 egg whites in the place of 1 whole egg. Add healthy nuts and seeds to your baked goods, along with vegetables such as grated carrot, sweet potato, courgette (baby marrow) or butternut. Experiment with quantities as not everything will work as a spoon-for-spoon substitution. For some great recipes visit http://www.foodsofapril.com
  • Make a marinade – marinating meat will keep it moist and flavourful during cooking, without the addition of oil. Try marinating a “butterflied” skinless chicken breast in some lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, peri-peri sauce and herbs and spices to your taste. Season with some salt and pepper and then cook for a few minutes on each side when you’re ready to eat! Simple and delicious.
  • Frozen you have chosen – Buy seasonal fruit, prepare it and then freeze it. When you fancy some ice-cream, whack a portion of frozen fruit in a blender with a scoop of protein powder, a pinch of xantham gum and just enough water or milk to blend. Add ice if desired. Pour into a tall glass and devour with a spoon!
  • Try something new – Fed up with oats? Try buckwheat flakes instead. Tired of tuna? Tinned pilchards make a great alternative and are packed with essential fatty acids (EFAs). Variety prevents boredom, so don’t be afraid to mix things up.
  • The spice of life – Herbs and spices add flavour without calories, whilst giving food a nutritional boost. Chilli speeds up the metabolism and gives food an exciting kick. Herbs are loaded with antioxidants and enhance the flavour of both meat and vegetable dishes.

I will regularly be posting healthy recipes, so keep your eyes peeled for fresh and interesting ways to eat good food.

Take care,

Mali.xxx

2 responses to “Creative Health

  • Michael Lindon

    Good advice ^^ I think you and I understand each other when it comes to food 🙂 I like the creativity and fresh ideas. My ideas are usually thrift motivated at university – nothing goes to waste, such as making irish potato bread with left over potatoes. I also second the fact that tinned fish are brilliant – so cheap, tasty and nutritious. A tin of princes Mackarel fillets in brine contains 6g of omega 3 which covers the weekly reccommendation. Try it on crisp bread with tomatoes, lettuce, onion and a bit of ketchup 😉 I also made baba ganousch today and thought of you, look it up =)

    • themalikwhey

      Haha, I don’t need to look it up, I am well acquainted with Baba Ganoush! One of my favourite ways to use aubergine!

      I agree regarding the tinned fish. Out here a tin of pilchards is pretty much the cheapest source of high quality protein and omegas, and luckily I like the taste (especially the ones in hot chilli sauce!), so I always have a tin on standby!

      At the moment I’m recuding carbs since I haven’t been able to train for a few weeks (due to nasty flu), so for a mid-morning snack I mixed some creme fraiche with cocoa powder, vanilla essence and stevia sweetener for a low-carb take on chocolate pudding (or something like that!) Was pretty tasty!

      I’m always looking for new healthy recipes (particularly sweet treats and pancakes) so if you’ve got any, please send ’em my way! Also, if you want some great and creative ideas for healthy eating visit http://www.foodsofapril.com – loads of great stuff on there. She has a healthy banana bread recipe that is delicious.

      And I’m with you on the waste thing – leftover brown rice becomes brown rice pudding, sweet potatoes into pancakes, ripe bananas into banana bread or muffins, old apples into apple sauce. I even use sour milk in pancakes, muffins and other baked goods.

      Btw, have you ever seen sugar-free syrup in England? The American fitness folk always talk about it but I can’t find anything of the sort over here. Do you know if I’ll able to stock up on some when I come home?

Leave a Reply

