Chocolate

In my life, I have encountered very few people who dislike the taste of chocolate. Whether you like it dark and bitter or milky and sweet, the luxurious way it coats the mouth with its rich flavour and velvety texture makes you feel like you’ve been momentarily transported to heaven. Or perhaps it’s just me?

I admit, I have something of a passion for chocolate. And by chocolate, I mean Cacao – in pretty much all its forms. I love crunching on raw Cacao Nibs, which are hard and bitter with no hint of sweetness. I mix plain Cocoa Powder into shakes and oatmeal, sweetened with stevia or fruit. A couple of squares of Lindt 85% Cocoa Chocolate makes any mid-afternoon snack more enjoyable, and yes, I do love the occasional bar of Dairy Milk, though for me the sugary, low cocoa bars feel less indulgent. So it really is the Chocolate that I love, not the sugar.

Cocoa itself is far from unhealthy – some people actually consider it a “superfood”. It’s full of magnesium and other minerals, can have a beneficial effect on moods (I’m not going to start explaining about serotonin, but trust me, there is science behind it!) AND (wait for it) has been shown to aid fat loss in athletes! Do you need any more proof that God loves you?!

Since I am low-carbing it at the moment, I am finding new and interesting ways enjoy chocolate. This morning my experiment took the form of some Low Carb Chocolate Muffins, which I adapted from a recipe I got from the net.

Low Carb Chocolate Muffins

Made 11 muffins at just over 1g carbs each

  • 1/3 cup (30g) soya protein isolate
  • 1/3 cup (55g) gluten flour*
  • 20g cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 5 tbsp oil (I used sunflower oil)
  • ¼ cup water
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • ¼ – ½ tsp almond essence (or other flavouring of choice – I love the combination of chocolate and almond!)
  • Stevia or your favourite sweetener to taste

*Gluten Flour is not just plain old wheat flour, but rather a flour made up entirely of gluten – the protein found in wheat, oats, barley and rye. As a result, gluten flour is high in protein and has hardly any carbs.

  1. Combine the first five ingredients by dry-whisking in a mixing bowl.
  2. In a jug, whisk together the oil, eggs, vanilla and almond essence. Pour onto dry ingredients and begin to lightly combine with a fork.
  3. Add the water and mix until smooth, thick and paste-like. You may need a couple of extra tablespoons.
  4. Pour into greased muffin tins and make for 10-15 minutes at 170-180. I baked for 15 minutes but next time will do 10 so that they’re a bit more moist in the middle.

My breakfast consisted of two of these treats, warm from the oven – one smeared with butter (I love low-carb diets) and the other topped with whipped cream. Creme Fraiche would also make a delicious frosting. Accompanied with some black Kalhua Fudge Coffee, it was the kind of breakfast to make me energetic and optimistic about the day ahead! I know, I’m easily pleased.

And now for the introduction of a new section of my blog: Food for Thought – because our bodies are not the only things that need daily nourishment!

Food for Thought: Jehova Jireh – God, our provider

God provides and works everything together for the good of those who love Him. We have a responsibility to work hard and utilise the talents He has given us, but with the intention of bringing Him glory, not out of a desire for wealth. The Bible tells us to Seek first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you” (Matthew 6:33). God takes care of those who put Him first.

Have a delicious day!

Mali.xxx

Leave a Reply

