Coleslaw, Cottage Cheese and Chocolate Custard

Howdy peeps,

It’s been a while! I have finally kicked the flu for good and am back on the exercise and as such back on the (“good”) carbs. At the moment the majority of my carbs are coming from vegetables, with some oats and other wholegrain stuff here and there.

I’ve taken to steaming a whole 300g bag of coleslaw mix (shredded carrot and cabbage) and topping it with 1 tbsp olive oil, some lemon juice, salt pepper and hot peri-peri sauce. Delicious stuff.

I’ve read lots of things about “Overnight Oats”, so I thought I’d have a go and creating my own concoction. Last night I got:

  • ½ cup fat-free, chunky cottage cheese
  • ¼ cup fat-free vanilla yogurt
  • ¼ cup butternut squash puree (I didn’t have pumpkin so the butternut baby food jar got cracked open)
  • ¼ cup oats
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tsp golden flaxseeds
  • 2 tbsp soya milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 sachet sweetener

I whacked it all in a bowl, gave it a little mix, covered with a plate and put it in the fridge, where it could sit overnight and contemplate being devoured the next day. This morning I came downstairs, armed myself with a spoon (and an extra sachet of sweetener), and gobbled down this little bowl of healthy deliciousness.

Another delicious new creation is Healthy Chocolate Custard. Ok, so it’s not really custard, but it reminded me of those funny chocolate-custard desserts you get in the yogurt aisle. Here it is:

  • ½ cup fat-free natural yogurt
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • Sweetener to taste (stevia, splenda… whatever you want)

Put all the ingredients in a pretty bowl and mix thoroughly till smooth. Feel free to adjust the quantities of each ingredient to suit your taste.

This would be delicious with just a sliced banana, but I had it with Shelley’s Chocolate Monkey Protein Souffle (recipe at www.theworldaccordingtoeggface.blogspot.com). I don’t have the fancy soufflé kit, or a decent oven, so I just poured the batter into microwavable muffin cups and micro-ed for about 5-6 minutes. The mixture made 7 muffins (I filled the cups right to the top). Also, I don’t have sugar-free syrup, so I used 2 tbsp stevia baking blend and a tbsp water. ALSO, I’ve never seen multigrain pancake mix in this country, so it was wholemeal self-raising flour for me. Despite my alterations, the muffins were truly delicious. I definitely recommend a visit to the website – she has loads of healthy versions of traditionally less-healthy dishes.

Well, that’s all for today. I have been studio-bound all week, recording vocals for my debut album, Atlases & Astronauts. It’s really sounding great now – almost like a finished product! I cannot wait to hold the first copy in my hand! At the moment we’re pre-selling copies, with lots of privileges attached for those willing to buy in advance (including a free acoustic download of the entire album). If you want more details, drop me a line and I’ll be happy to send you the info.

Have a sweet day!

Love Mali.xxx

Leave a Reply

