Muffins, Cheesecake and Choc-Chick Pudding

Hola!

As you all know, the past few weeks have been studio-mania, with little time for anything that doesn’t relate to music. As such, my exercise regime has flown to some other hemisphere, and I am starting to feel a little less fit and strong that I would like. So yesterday, it all began again. I am starting a new program, with weight training 5 days a week and an optional cardio session on the 6th day (I know what you’re thinking – who would choose to do an OPTIONAL cardio session? Well, cardio helps with my moods and energy levels, and to be perfectly honest I actually enjoy it). I’ve still been eating healthily (with the occasional treat at weddings and birthdays, etc), though perhaps eating a little too much considering my lack of activity. I’ve picked up a little bit of weight, but that doesn’t worry me – more stored energy for my body to burn as muscle fuel!

Some of yesterdays more noteworthy meals:

My newest creation, which I will be repeating often:

Choc-Chick Pudding:

• 1/3 cup cooked chickpeas

• ¼ cup soy milk

• 1 scoop chocolate flavoured protein powder

• 1 tbsp cocoa powder

• Pinch each of xantham and guar gum (or ¼ tsp of one or the other)

  1. Chuck the lot into a blender and blitz until smooth.
  2. Eat straight away or chill first.

I wasn’t sure how this would turn out, but it was such a pleasant surprise – smooth, thick and chocolaty!

Then I hit the gym for a long awaited session. It was a back day, and I’m pleased to say I can still dead-lift over 30kgs despite my inactivity over the past month. My workout was as follows:

Bench pull-ups* – Set 1: 8 reps; Set 2: 8 reps; Set 3: 8 reps

Straight-leg dead-lifts – Set 1: 6 x 30kgs; Set 2: 8 x 30kgs; Set 3: 8 x 30kgs

Bent-over rows – Set 1: 10 x 7.5kgs each side; Set 2: 10 x 7.5kgs; Set 3: 10 x 7.5kgs;

One-armed bent-over rows – Set 1: 10 x 7.5kgs; Set 2: 10 x 7.5kgs; Set 3: 10 x 7.5kgs

N.B. 6 x 30kgs means 6 reps with a weight of 30kgs. All weight figures do not include the weight of the bar itself.

*I do not have a pull-up bar, nor would I be able to do unassisted pull-ups even if I did, so I kneel on the floor behind the bench, grab the bar (wide-grip) that’s resting on the rack and pull myself up using as little of my leg strength as possible. This is a surprisingly effective exercise for those unable to do pull-ups or without access to a pull-up bar/machine.

I am pleased to report that today I am SUPER sore – in a good way! Not due to injury but due to the tears in muscle fibres that will prompt my body to regenerate bigger, stronger fibres (i.e. bigger muscles!)

My post-workout meal consisted of one of my new Mighty Muffins, along with a simple protein shake made with 2 scoops of chocolate protein powder, ½ cup soya milk, about ¾ cup water, 1 tsp instant coffee and a pinch each of xantham and guar gum.

Here’s the muffin recipe:

Mali’s Mighty Muffins

(Makes 15 muffins)

Dry ingredients:

• ½ cup stone-ground whole wheat flour

• ¼ cup oat bran

• ¼ cup soya flour

• ¼ cup flaxseed powder

• ¼ cup wheat germ

• ¼ cup stone-ground sorghum meal

• 1/3 cup wheat bran

• 1 ½ tsp baking powder

• 1 ½ tsp baking soda (bicarb)

• 1 tsp cinnamon

• ½ tsp mixed spice

• Pinch salt

• ¼ cup stevia for baking (could use splenda or other sweetener to taste)

Wet ingredients:

• 4 bananas

• 200ml applesauce

• 6 tbsp buttermilk, yogurt or sour milk (I used sour milk)

• 2 eggs • 2 tsp vanilla

Add-ins:

• ¼ cup mixed seeds

• ¼ cup dried peaches, chopped

• 50g dried dates

• ¼ cup chopped peanuts

  1. Mix dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl (I like to mix with a balloon whisk to get rid of lumps – too lazy to sift!)
  2. Place wet ingredients in a food processor and blend till smooth.
  3. Mix wet and dry ingredients until well combined.
  4. Fold in your chosen add-ins (feel free to get creative – I just listed the ones that I used) and mix until evenly distributed.
  5. Bake in sprayed muffin tins 180/350 degrees (Gas 4) for about 15-20 minutes (or until skewer comes out clean).

Even Mr K, who doesn’t always enjoy my healthy reinventions, liked these.

For dinner I stir-fried a whole load of shredded cabbage, onion, carrot and green pepper in olive oil, along with some lean springbuck (venison) mince, a tin of tomatoes and some hot peri-peri sauce.

Dessert (pre-bed, to prevent muscle breakdown during sleep) was a Peanut Butter Cheesecake Pudding: ½ cup smooth fat-free cottage cheese with 1 tbsp peanut butter and a sachet of sweetener. Mmm…

Well, it’s time for me to work my abs and calves!

Shalom,

Mali.xxx

2 responses to “Muffins, Cheesecake and Choc-Chick Pudding

  • april

    Gosh I love your blog! I love how you are not worried about the few extra pounds. You are so right!

    And I’m pretty sure those pull ups you are doing are called inverted pull ups.. very good for helping build you up to doing real ones!

    And oh that chickpea pudding sounds great! Sometimes the weirdest combos turn out to be the best!

  • themalikwhey

    Thanks April, I’m so glad you like it! I’ve scoured the net for food and fitness blogs and yours is still my favourite!

    Inverted pull-ups! Thanks for the heads-up 😀 I am determined to get to the point where I can do real pull-ups! I’m still sore from those inverted ones.

    And I completely agree re the weird combos – pretty much anything tastes good when you add cocoa and protein powder! Lol!

Leave a Reply

