PB x 2

Hi guys,

Not a super-long post today as I’ve got lots to get on with. Here are some highlights:

My pre-workout oatmeal was super delicious today:

  • ¼ cup oat bran
  • ¼ cup wheat bran
  • 1 tbsp golden flaxseeds
  • ½ cup soy milk
  • ½ cup water

Cook together in microwave till all the water has been absorbed and the mixture has thickened. Then stir in:

  • 1 scoop protein powder (whatever flavour you like – I used chocolate)

And if you fancy, top with:

  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

The wheat bran made it taste a bit like Weetabix (or Weetbix, if you’re South African. I maintain my British heritage by including the “a”).

Yesterday I made April’s High Protein Pumpkin Bread (that’s the first PB) (visit www.foodsofapril.com for the recipe), which came out great! The stats are quite literally unbelievable. I used soy flour in the place of Oat Fiber. I ate over a quarter of the batch straight from the oven topped with peanut butter (the second PB). This morning I mashed up another quarter with some water and an egg and microwaved it for a high protein bread pudding (again, topped with peanut butter). Then I ate ANOTHER quarter for my mid morning snack, sliced in half (horizontally) and toasted, with…you guessed it, more peanut butter! N.B. Peanut butter is a high-fat, high-calorie food but I work it into my nutritional requirements so I enjoy 2-4 tbsp a day without a problem.

My legs are sore from yesterday’s workout, though I feel nothing in my calves. Gotta find a good calf exercise to do – calf raises are so boring, and I end up with bruises when I sit down and rest the weight on my knees for the weighted calf press.

I’m now psyching myself up for my Chest and Shoulders. The chest is probably my least favourite muscle group to work. Since I don’t have a spotter, I get nervous lifting anything too heavy in case I can’t get it back up again (this has happened before, and I kind of had to wriggle out from under the bar as it crushed me). I could use dumbbells but I have weak wrists and find it very hard to keep the weights steady, which just irritates me.

With regards to the blog, I’m currently working on getting my “Recipes” section sorted, as well as links to other great blogs on the right-hand side. I’ll let you know when it’s all up and running.

Right, off to do my workout.

Lotsa love,

Mali.xxx

Leave a Reply

