A belated post…

This post is a couple of days out of date – I was unable to post it from home, as we have no internet connection yet!

 

I am already sick of being sick. I’m totally bored of sitting around and want to do some exercise! However, one good thing has come of my being house-bound. Earlier today, in my boredom, I scratched around the kitchen and managed to create Homemade Coconut Butter! I am super excited, as living in South Africa means I don’t have access to a lot of the special delicacies that I read about in other blogs by people living in America.

The best part is that this Coconut Butter cost under R10 to make – that’s £1, or just over a dollar – which is even cheaper than a jar of peanut butter!

I am not fortunate enough to own a Vita-mix (they cost over R7000!), and did this in my own, bottom-of-the-range blender.

 

Homemade Coconut Butter

  • 1 ½ cups shredded/desiccated coconut
  • 4 tsp oil (sunflower, olive, coconut – whatever works best for you, as long as it doesn’t conflict with the coconut flavour)
  1. Place ½ cup coconut in blender. Blend till fine (you may need to stop every 30 seconds or so to push the coconut back down to the bottom.
  2. Keep the blender going and add oil ½ tsp at a time, allowing each addition to be thoroughly combined before adding the next. Again, turn blender off and scrape the sides down frequently.
  3. Once you have a paste-like consistency, keep blender going and add another ¼ cup coconut. Wait till thoroughly incorporated, then add another ¼ cup. Leave to blend for a few minutes until you have a liquid-like consistency (the heat from the blender will cause the oil to melt, creating the liquid-like consistency).
  4. Add the final ½ cup and blend till you get back to the liquid consistency. Transfer to jar or tub and leave to cool.
  5. Will set once it reaches room temperature. This takes longer than you’d think, so be patient!

 

Yes, I will accept orders from any South Africans wanting to taste this but too lazy to make it themselves (/don’t have a blender).

 

Another yummy creation was yet another variation on the protein pudding. It’s easy to eat healthy when something as delicious as this is allowed:

 

Warm Chocolate Protein Pudding

  • 3 tbsp pureed carrots (I use baby food for convenience – sweet potato or pumpkin would also work)
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  1. Place pureed carrots and protein powder in a microwaveable mug and mix well. Microwave on high for 30 seconds (or 45 if your microwave is not super powerful like mine!).
  2. Remove from microwave and stir in cocoa powder. Simple as that! Be prepared to want another serving directly after you’ve finished the first (or maybe that only happens to me…).

 

Of course, for my afternoon snack I had to make something using the coconut butter, so I made yet ANOTHER chocolate protein pudding, even yummier than the first!

 

Choconut Protein Pudding

  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp coconut butter
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 tbsp water
  1. Mix coconut butter and cocoa powder into a paste.
  2. Add protein powder and vanilla, then 1 tbsp water – mix well.
  3. Add the last tbsp water and mix till smooth.
  4. Microwave for 30 seconds. Mix in a tbsp more water if you want a less-cakey consistency.

 

Yesterday’s photo shoot went well, despite the fact that I felt awful. I have another shoot today – this time for the actual COVER of the album! If any of you buy a copy when it comes out, have a look at the cover and tell me whether or not it’s obvious that I had the flu! I’m hoping that make-up and special lighting will do their bit in making me look fabulous despite how rough I feel! Wishful thinking? (It probably doesn’t help that I’m sitting here with wet hair – but I have to let my hair dry naturally otherwise it won’t look right for the shoot. My Grandma would give me an earful if she could see me now!) Warren told me to wear nothing white for the shoot – what about my pale legs? Hopefully they don’t count. Perhaps they’ll camouflage against the white backdrop and it’ll look like I have no legs? That wouldn’t be good…

 

Well, I’ll let you know how it goes. In the meantime, if anyone wants to bring me chicken soup and/or Greek salad (I’m really craving Greek salad…), I will graciously accept.

 

A lorra love (remember Cilla Black?),

Mali.xxx

 

4 responses to “A belated post…

  • april

    I’m sure you look beautiful! I can’t wait to see the cover!

    And yum those puddings do sound delicious! I love cocoa butter.. especially on pumpkin flavored things!

    • themalikwhey

      Aw thanks 😀

      I haven’t seen the pics yet but Warren (photographer) says they’re looking good so hopefully I managed to mask my sickness effectively! Haha! At one point he put a fan on me for some kind of special effect and I thought I was going to catch pneumonia! Lol!

      I’ve run out of pumpkin 😦 I can’t buy it cans over here so I have to cook it from fresh every time! Which is good on the one hand, but a lot of extra work! That’s why I use baby food so often – but it’s way more expensive than just buying the fresh pumpkin!

      I’m thinking of starting a pumpkin patch in my garden…

  • Cerina

    Whaaa? South Africa? I LOVE Africa! I want to go there when I get older.
    The homemade coconut butter is a really good idea =~)

Leave a Reply

