Body for Life, take 2…

Hello world!

 

It’s been a while since I last posted, and I must confess that this is largely due to the fact that the past week has not been a very healthy one. I haven’t exercised (didn’t want to risk getting sick again before the album was finished) and have eaten too way much (not all healthy stuff either). But life is all about the ups and downs, and I am the first to admit that I am FAR from perfect! The plus side is that I feel pretty rubbish when I behave in this way (how is that a plus side? Well, it means I won’t allow myself to fall into an unhealthy lifestyle). As such, I am feeling very motivated to make some SERIOUS progress over the next 3 months. The album gets sent off for mastering on Monday, so Mr K and I are choosing this as the start date for our new regime. We did Body for Life at the beginning of the year (that’s how I first got into weight training) and completed the full 12 weeks. Since then, life has got in the way of us achieving our fitness goals (though I have continued to train on and off and generally eat well). My strength has increased, but not nearly as much as I had hoped it would. Why? Well, here are my theories:

  • Not eating enough on training days
  • Not sticking to the same training program for long enough to make sufficient progress
  • Too many periods of interruption (due to sickness, etc.)

As of today, I am upping my game. I will take a new set of “before” photos (I haven’t done this since January!), train hard and stick to the same regime for at least 6 weeks before changing it up. I will be eating six times a day (following the basic BFL principles, but implementing any additional knowledge I have acquired), and enjoying a free meal once a week, if I fancy it. The free meal concept is totally based on individual preference – I am choosing not to go for an all out free day, as I have a history of abusing the privilege by gorging on sugar and reaping the physiological repercussions. Some people don’t even need a free meal, but I am going to allow myself the option, to avoid slipping into the “diet” mentality. If I ban myself from a food, I tend to develop an unhealthy phobia towards it, and I have no desire to be one of those people that nobody wants to invite over for dinner because she shuns the dessert you spent hours slaving over. Life’s too short. Allowing myself the occasional free meal will hopefully prevent such a “food phobia” from developing.

 

I have constructed a detailed nutrition program, and plan to follow the BFL workout program for at least the first 6 weeks, the only difference being that I cannot perform any HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) due to a medical condition. I have not decided exactly how to combat this – skip cardio altogether, or to longer, slower-paced sessions? Any opinions will be warmly received!

 

I have completed today’s Upper Body Workout. I really struggled with it as I battled to sleep last night and was feeling tired and week this morning. But I pushed through and feel much better for having done so.

 

Food wise, this morning I devoured another oatmeal experiment:

 

High Protein Creamy Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • ¼ cup milk
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 whole egg
  • 3 egg whites
  • ½ scoop vanilla protein powder
  • Lots of cinnamon

Cook the oats with the milk and water in the microwave.

Stir in the egg and egg whites, and microwave in short bursts, stirring every 20 seconds or so. Do this until you have a thick, creamy consistency.

Stir in the protein powder and add cinnamon to taste. Yummy!

 

During my workout I was seriously flagging, so I sipped on 1 scoop of my SSN Anabolic Shake (strawberry flavour) dissolved in water.

 

Then as a post-workout lunch I had a large mixed salad topped with some tinned pilchards in tomato sauce, with 1 slice wholemeal bread.

 

Mid-afternoon I had a protein shake made with 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder, plus a small apple and ¼ cup low-fat milk (in my tea).

 

Dinner was yummy roasted chicken breast with some sweet potato and lots of veggies.

 

For dessert I ate a protein pudding consisting of 1 scoop chocolate protein powder and 1 tbsp tahini, mixed with a splash of cold water. I also had another cup of tea with ¼ cup low-fat milk.

 

FYI, the recipe section is now up and running, so please have a browse! Be sure to let me know if you try anything, and how it turns out 🙂

 

Well, that’s all for today. I’m knackered!

 

Sleep well,

Mali.xxx

One response to “Body for Life, take 2…

  • april

    I can’t wait to see the progress photos! You will make awesome progress I am sure!

    If you don’t mind me asking, what is your medical problem? If it’s a heart problem, are you able to do some sort of intervals, or plyo?

Leave a Reply

