Pilates & Pressure Cookers

Happy belated New Year everyone!

 

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last posted. So much has happened since then! The most exciting news is that my album is now finished! It’s been selling really well so far, and I’m so happy with the finished product. I was so blessed to have many skilled people give generously of their time and talents to the project, and as such the results are far beyond what I could’ve hoped for. The CD will be for sale on CD Baby, as well as available for download on iTunes within the next couple of weeks, so watch this space!

 

On the exercise front, things are very different at the moment. I haven’t had access to the same kind of gear I had when we were recording the album, so I’ve had to make do with a couple of heavy dumbbells at home in the meantime. I still got some good results with these as I continued to push myself to failure during each workout. But for the New Year I’ve decided to take a new approach to working out. Before I begin, let it be known that I still think that weight training is the single most effective form of exercise. However, I’m all for trying new things, and as such I’ve decided to follow a Pilates program for a few months. My reasons are:

 

  • I want to work on my core strength and balance, and apparently Pilates is one of the best ways to do so
  • I want to increase my flexibility
  • I want to correct my posture
  • I want to ease my back and neck pain (caused by tension, which weight training unfortunately seems to aggravate)
  • Everyone keeps talking about it, and I’ve seen other people achieve great results through practicing it, so I figured it can’t hurt to try!
  • I am going on tour soon, and Pilates will be much easier to practice on the road!

 

I am doing one hour of Pilates three times a week, as well as some form of light cardio three times a week (at the moment I’m enjoying swimming in the lagoon and walking up the hill in the sunshine). Also, please take note that I do not necessarily think that cardio is necessary for fitness, nor do I think it’s a good way to get lean and toned (again, weight training is most effective), but I do it because it improves my mood and makes me more energetic and efficient.

 

I’ll let you know how the Pilates works out (so to speak). After my experiment I will either go back to weight training, or (if I find the Pilates to be very effective) combine the two somehow. In the meantime, I’d love to hear your thoughts on Pilates!

 

Food wise, I’ve really been enjoying having the restrictions removed from my diet. I have successfully been trying to “un-learn” a lot of the stuff I know about nutrition, for the sake of being able to enjoy my food without analysing every last gram. Counting calories is now only an occasional occurrence for me, rather than being the thing my brain defaults to whenever I’m not thinking about anything else. I am much happier for it. It’s so nice to be able to join in with dessert at family meals, or have the occasional cupcake and cappuccino when I’m out. A far as I can tell, I haven’t picked up and body fat through doing so, and the best part is that I don’t really binge eat anymore (bingeing was my nemesis last year, and sabotaged my transformation efforts). So all in all, the more relaxed approach is far better for me.

 

Cuan and I went to the lagoon the other day, and He went fishing (throw-net) while I had a swim. He caught seven Grey Mullet (kind of like Mackerel, but milder and less oily). We cooked it up that night and had with quinoa, mixed vegetables, feta cheese and caramelised onions. It was delicious!

 

I’ve also been enjoying the Pressure Cooker I got for my Birthday. You can cook any kind of meat tender in 20 minutes in that thing, so I’ve been making lots of meat and vegetable stews.

 

All in all, life is great, and I’m enjoying the African Summer!

 

Hope you’re all having a great 2011 so far! I hope to be blogging more regularly this year.

 

Lots of love,

Mali

4 responses to “Pilates & Pressure Cookers

  • april

    I’m so anxious to hear what pilates does for you! When I first started working out, I started with pilates videos at home. I actually really liked them! I do think they helped with core strength- first time I did that video I could barely get through it and soon after it got easier.

    I hope you will continue blogging too! I’ve been wondering where you’ve been! 🙂

    • Mali K (The Mali K Whey)

      I know, it’s been way too long since I last posted! I wish we had internet at home!!

      I am also enjoying the Pilates, though I have to say I am missing lifting, especially when I read your posts! But it’s an experiment, so I’m going to try and stick to the program for 3 months!

  • bev

    swimming in the lagoon, fishing for dinner and a garden with a family of bushbucks, not forgetting the african summer…..i know where i’d like to be x

Leave a Reply

