Rice Pudding and Radio Play

I am back from the land of touring!

I had some really great gigs, sold lots of CDs, and made some really great connections with new fans. Touring is pretty much my favourite part of being a musician – I love to play great gigs to listening audiences all over the country (and soon, the world!).

Health-wise, I’ve had a few setbacks. My “stomach issues” have really been bothering me, and I seem to be consistently lacking in energy. As a result, I decided to go on an exclusion diet, in order to see if I can identify any possible food intolerances that may be contributing to my problems. For a short period, I am avoiding the following foods:

  • Gluten
  • Dairy
  • Yeast
  • Eggs

An exclusion diet should never be taken on lightly – I have a lot of experience with them and have undertaken many in the past under guidance from nutritionists. Please do not copy me without first seeking sound advice from a professional in the nutrition or medical field!

After the “detox” period, I will gradually re-introduce each food and see if there is a reaction. In the meantime, I’m enjoying trying out some vegan recipes from www.chocolatecoveredkatie.com – since I can no longer have eggs or dairy (of course, I am not a vegan as I still eat meat!). There are some great recipes there, including the “breakfast pizzert” and the “single-lady cookie”, both of which I made gluten-free by changing the flours.

For the past couple of days, I have really been craving oatmeal, but due to avoiding all gluten I’ve been unable to satisfy my craving. So last night I cooked up a whole big batch of rice, and whipped up a batch of rice pudding this morning.

Here’s what I did:

Almost Oatmeal Rice Pudding

  1. ½ cup cooked rice (brown or white, or a mix)
  2. ¾ cup soy milk (or other milk of your choice)
  3. ¾ cup water (I used the leftover water that the rice was cooked in)
  4. 1 tsp vanilla
  5. 1 tsp sugar or equivalent sweetener
  6. 1 tbsp flaxseeds
  7. 1 tsp tapioca flour or cornstarch
  • Soak the rice in the soy milk, water and vanilla overnight.
  • In the morning, bring the mixture to the boil and boil rapidly until about half of the liquid has been absorbed.
  • Remove a tablespoon or two of the liquid and mix with the tapioca flour/cornstarch to make a paste. Add paste to the pan.
  • Add the flaxseeds and sugar, and continue to boil (remembering to keep stirring) until the mixture is thick and creamy.

I topped mine with dark chocolate and 1 tbsp tahini and drizzled with honey.

In other exciting news, my music has been play-listed on a local radio station – Knysna FM (97.0). My song “Heal Me” is also going to be played on UK Radio this weekend.

Anyone with great recipes that are egg, dairy, gluten and yeast free – feel free to share or link etc.

God bless,

Mali.xxx

2 responses to “Rice Pudding and Radio Play

  • april

    Mmm this sounds so good! I hope all goes well and your able to pinpoint the cause of your troubles! Keep us updated!

    And congrats!! I need to do your review still- things have been so crazy around here I haven’t gotten the chance. But I will, don’t worry!

Leave a Reply

