Chocolate and Banana – is there a better flavour combination in the world?

Well, so far it seems that my digestive problems are not a result of food intolerances (that or it’s an intolerance to something very obscure!). My symptoms are following the exact same pattern as usual, despite having cut out aforementioned foods. I’m fairly confident now that my problems are related to my menstrual cycle, since my symptoms follow a very predictable monthly pattern. But enough about that – let’s talk pancakes!

I woke up this morning fancying pancakes. As you know, my diet is fairly restrictive at the moment, so my go-to pancakes recipes were out. But necessity is the mother of invention, and I set out to create an egg-free, gluten-free and potentially vegan pancake recipe. I also wanted to use two of my favourite ingredients: banana and chocolate. The result was AMAZING. Not the prettiest thing to look at – but the flavours were sublime! My taste-buds and I were definitely off to a good start this morning.

 

Making its way to my mouth...

 

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Banana Choc-Chip Pancakes For One (gluten-free, egg-free and potentially vegan)

  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 2 tbsp tapioca flour
  • 2 tbsp sorghum flour
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp cream of tartar (optional – not sure if it’s 100% gluten-free)
  • Sweetener equivalent to 1 tsp sugar
  • Pinch salt
  • ¼ cup water
  • ¼ cup milk of your choice (using non-dairy milk will make the recipe vegan)
  • 1 tbsp oil (I used sunflower, but I reckon coconut would be amazing)
  • ¼ tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 tbsp dark chocolate chips or cacao nibs
  1. Mash the banana well (if your banana is not very ripe, mash it and then microwave it for about 30 seconds till soft).
  2. Add the dry ingredients to the bowl, followed by the water. Mix well.
  3. Add the milk a tablespoon at a time, beating between each addition.
  4. Add the oil, sugar, salt and vanilla and beat well.
  5. Fold in the chocolate chips/cacao nibs.
  6. Pour spoonfuls of batter onto a sprayed or oiled non-stick skillet (preheated to a medium heat).
  7. Wait till underside is well cooked before flipping (important, otherwise pancakes will fall apart).
  8. Cook on the other side before dishing up. (These are VERY moist and gooey, so if this is not your thing, add more flour. I personally love them like this!)
  9. Top with anything you like – I used some peanut butter, but if I’d have had coconut butter, I definitely would’ve opted for that.

 

Well, that’s me out for the day. By the by, who all is on Twitter? My username is MaliKorsten – follow me and I’ll follow ya back!

Love,

Mali.xxx

Leave a Reply

