Three Chias!

I FINALLY found Chia Seeds in South Africa! Yesterday I was rejoicing all the way from the Health Shop, super excited about what I was to do with my new purchase.

As you know, I am on an exclusion diet at the moment, to try and see if I can identify any foodstuffs that might cause of aggravate my health problems. Over the last few days I have been reintroducing oats (a gluten-containing food) and monitoring my reaction. I will let you know when I have come to a conclusion.

In the meantime, here is my Chia and Oatmeal extravaganza!

Coco-Chi Oatmeal

  • ½ cup oats
  • ½ cup soy milk + ½ cup water
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 tsp blackstrap molasses
  • ¼ cup desiccated coconut

  1. Cook the oats in the soy milk and water for a couple of minutes.
  2. Stir in the chia seeds and cook for a further couple of minutes.
  3. Turn off the heat. Add the molasses and pour over the hot water.
  4. Leave for about 15 minutes to allow the chia seeds to swell.
  5. Bring back to the boil, add the coconut and simmer till all the excess liquid has been absorbed.
  6. Leave to settle for a minute or two before serving.

NB: Makes on HUGE serving – half the recipe if you have a mini appetite, or if you want serve it with something extra, or if you’re a 6-meal a day kinda person.

 

Tasteh!


This was AMAZING! Possibly the best breakfast I have ever created. It was deliciously creamy, subtly sweet, with the flavour of the coconut coming through in every delicious mouthful.

Some of you may have noticed that I’ve stopped using Protein Powder, so I thought I would share a quick word on protein… Firstly, I have really lost my inclination to eat meat. As for protein powder and egg whites – they’re out whilst I’m on this exclusion diet. So at the moment I’m not worrying too much about how many grams of protein I’m eating – and I don’t appear to have gotten any weaker for it (I’ve actually noticed an increase in my strength). This just goes to show that everyone’s bodies are unique and can respond to certain nutritional behaviours differently. My husband eats meat every day, and a meal doesn’t really feel complete to him without it. I, on the other hand, could go days without meat, and would only really miss it when eating out. Neither way is right or wrong – we just have different requirements and thus our bodies desire different nutritional staples.

I definitely think Chia Seeds are going to become one of my staples!

Lots of love,

Mali.xxx

Leave a Reply

