The Coconut Crisis

Anyone who reads this blog semi-regularly will know that I have a bit of a “thing” for coconut. I have a tendency to add it, in some shape or form, to pretty much anything I consume.

For a few weeks, I was repeatedly experiencing dizzy spells, accompanied by severe nausea and shaking. I didn’t associate it with what I WAS eating, but rather thought it was due to a drop in blood sugar from gaps between meals. Then one night, after vomiting at 3am, my husband very sweetly said to me, “Do you not think maybe it’s all the coconut you’ve been eating?”

Thank you my love, but really… how could you suggest such a thing? Coconut is up there in my Top 10 Foodstuffs – how is it possible that I be allergic to it, even in a small way?

Then I ran through what I’d eaten that day in my head. Sure enough, coconut had been consumed at every meal: 1/4 cup mixed into my morning oats, a coconut cappuccino to accompany my lunch, and two banana-coconut muffins topped with (wait for it…) coconut butter at dinner.

The next day, I stayed away from coconut for the first time in a couple of weeks. And guess what? No nausea. It seems that the coconut I love so much does not love me.

 

"I just don't feel the same way..."

 

Since then, I have eaten small amounts of coconut seemingly without too much of a problem, so either I am mildly allergic or it’s just one of those foods that is not meant to be consumed in copious amounts. Either way, my intake has been dramatically reduced, so expect less coconut-based recipes from now on! Thankfully, I have a backlog of recipes that I am yet to share… one of which includes the following:

 

Tropical Banana Muffins

(Adapted from this recipe)

  • ½ cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp vinegar
  • 3/4 cup buckwheat flour
  • 3/4 cup chickpea/garbanzo bean flour
  • 3/4 cup tapioca flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 tsp baking soda/bicarb
  • 1 1/4 cups mashed, super-ripe bananas (about 3-5, depending on the size)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • About 1/2 a clove of nutmeg, freshly grated
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  1. Preheat oven to 325/163.
  2. Whisk together soy milk and vinegar, and let rest for 10 minutes or so until the mixture thickens/curdles.
  3. Mix together the banana, sugar, oil, spices, salt, vanilla and the thickened soy milk.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. Add the wet mixture and mix until just combined (do not over-mix or you will end up with chewy muffins).
  5. Fill lined muffin tins to the top with the mixture, and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.

 

 

A bit of drizzle 'n' crunch

 

Tastes great plain, or topped with coconut butter and cacao nibs, as pictured above.

 

Maybe one day I’ll be able to eat them again…

 

Mali.xxx

Leave a Reply

